Friday, December 21, 2018

AUTV 20 wins three 2019 IBS Finalist Awards

For the third year in a row, JDM's student television station AUTV 20 won multiple Intercollegiate Broadcasting System Finalist Awards. Last year, AUTV 20 received an IBS First Place Award for Best Sports Interview Program. According to Faculty Advisor Dr. Dave McCoy, these awards reflect upon the "high quality and dedication of JDM's digital media students and demonstrate the excellent leadership of AUTV 20 station manager Ingrid Schmidt." 

AUTV 20 was selected for the following categories:
Best News Feature Story for Don't be Fooled: Fake News and Social Media

Best Video Newscast for Eagle News Update

Best Video Sports Report for Eagles are headed back to the Final Four

AUTV 20 placed in the top five in each of these categories. The Finalist Awards and the National First Place Awards (to be announced at the March 1-3, 2019 Convention) will be handed out in New York City.

WRDL named to multiple IBS Finalist Awards

WRDL 88.9 FM was recently honored with two 2019 Finalist Awards from the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System. This marks the third year in a row that WRDL has garnered multiple IBS Finalist Awards with a national First Place Award in 2017. WRDL General Manager Derek Wood noted that these awards signify the "best of the best" in collegiate radio and audio production.

WRDL was selected for Best Play-by-Play Football for its coverage of Crestview High School football. It was one of six stations feted in this category. Also, the station received the Best Use of Social Media (Other) for the WRDL 88.9 Soundcloud. It was in the top five stations in the country for this category.

IBS Finalist Awards and the National First Place Awards will be handed out at the national convention on March 1 to 3, 2019 in New York City.

The Collegian and AU Live net ONMA awards

The Collegian and AU Live were named as winners in the 2019 Ohio Collegiate Newspaper and Best Website Competition. The awards are sponsored by the Ohio News Media Association. The ONMA Convention will be held in Columbus on February 7. Awards will be given at that event.

Award categories and student winners are as follows:
Arts and Entertainment     Caitlyn Moore, Justin Davis and Kellie Pleshinger

Design       Collegian Staff

Photojournalism     Bree Gannon

Best Multi-Media Package    Ingrid Schmidt and Christine Jenkinson

Best Website     Collegian/AU Live Staff

Sunday, December 16, 2018

December 2018 JDM Graduates

December 15th marked the end of an era for the three JDM students who walked across the stage at the Fall 2018 Commencement. Digital Media Journalism and Digital Media Production double-major Noah Cloonan will embark on a career of sports broadcasting. Currently, he serves as a play-by-play announcer for AU basketball games on Sports Time Ohio. DMP major Waylon O'Donnell recently was hired by WQKT radio in Wooster. Yang (Andy) Shao, a DMP major, will enroll next year in a film or digital media production graduate program.

JDM salutes the latest in its long line of successful graduates!