Sunday, December 25, 2016

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays from JDM

The Journalism and Digital Media department wishes everyone a very Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and a restful break from academic studies. JDM salutes the hard-working, dedicated and creative students, staff and faculty who have made the department Ohio's premiere small college/university academic and applied media program. From award-winning content produced by The Collegian, AUTV 20 and WRDL radio to the ground-breaking 5 hour converged live broadcast of Election Night 2016 and the Sports Time Ohio telecasts of Ashland University football and basketball games, JDM had a blessed year.

Saturday, December 24, 2016

WRDL and AUTV 20 win IBS Awards

For the first time in the Journalism and Digital Media era, WRDL 88.9 radio and AUTV 20 have won national collegiate student media awards. The Finalist Awards are bestowed by the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System which is an organization of more than 1000 non-profit, education-affiliated radio stations, television stations and webcasters. The award selection committee is constituted of media professors and professional from around the country. Finalist Awards signify the upper 10% of all entries. First place awards and Finalist trophies will be given at the 77th Annual IBS Conference in New York City on March 4, 2017.

All three JDM student media entities (The Collegian, AUTV-20 and WRDL) are now award-winning co-curricular components of a converged academic media program. According to JDM chair Dr. Dave McCoy, these awards validate the "hard work, dedication and creative spirit" exhibited by JDM students. He adds that "JDM co-curricular media clearly add to the intellectual and professional development of our students and that these awards help to demonstrate that JDM is the premiere small college/university academic and applied media program in Ohio."

Here are the JDM IBS Finalist Award winners:
Best Newscast (Top 5 in the country)
Eagle News Update--Andrew Clough, Colleen Rimmel, Connor Dunwoodie, Halee Heironimus, Sean Honaker
Best Sports Program (Top 4 in the country)
Eagle Sports Update---Kate Siefert, Tom Prizeman
Best Sports Play-by-Play (Top 3 in the country)
Ursuline vs. Ashland Basketball---Erich Metze, Brandon Hood, Sean Honaker, Noah Cloonan, Derek Wood
Best Newscast (Top 7 in the country) The Early Bird's Word---Kate Siefert
Best Women's Basketball Play-by-Play (Top 5)--AU vs. Grand Valley--Derek Wood, Noah Cloonan
Best Use of Facebook (Top 5)---WRDL site---Derek Wood
Best Show Promotion Poster (Top 6)--The Early Bird's Word--Derek Wood