Sunday, January 7, 2018

AUTV 20 and WRDL win IBS Finalist Awards

For the second year in a row, AUTV 20 and WRDL 88.9 FM were selected for multiple Finalist Awards by the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System. AUTV 20 was recognized in five different categories and WRDL was honored in three different categories. AUTV 20 and WRDL faculty advisor Dr. Dave McCoy remarked that "these awards are a tribute to the hard work, dedication and creative abilities of our JDM co-curricular media students."  McCoy added that "the IBS Awards are one of the longest-running and noteworthy collegiate media competitions in the country."
JDM honorees are invited to the national convention to be held in early March in New York City. The Finalist Awards and the National First Place Awards will be handed out during the ceremony.

The following list designates the categories and the students recognized for their work.

Best Use of YouTube (top 5 in the country)  Ingrid Schmidt

Best Use of Instagram (top 6)     Ingrid Schmidt

Best Talk Program (top 6)   Eagle's Eye   Waylon O'Donnell, Michaela Ping, Ingrid Schmidt

Best Newscast (Video/TV) (top 6)   AUTV 20  News Update  Renee Borcas, Connor Dunwoodie, Sean Honaker, Paul Murray. Callan Pugh, Ingrid Schmidt

Best Sports Interview Program (top 3)    The AU Wrestling Spotlight   Renne Borcas, Trae Coopwood, Erich Metze

Best Sports Play-by-Play, Women's Basketball (top 6)   AU National Championship Game  Noah Cloonan and Tyler Lance  WRDL won this category in last year's IBS competition.

Best Event Promo (top 5)   AU Basketball   Tom Nesbitt

Best Station Promotional Poster (top 6)   WRDL Tailgate Party  WRDL Staff